The Board

It is the mission of the board to serve as responsible stewards of Benton County by aiding in the protection and preservation of the land, water, and resources from the degrading impacts of noxious weeds.

The Benton County Noxious Weed Control Board (BCNWCB):

  • Promotes weed control by personal contact with landowners and through appropriate public media.
  • Uses an educational control program to assist landowners in weed identification and proper control with emphasis placed on weeds on the control list.
  • Provides trained field staff to assist the landowners. The field staff are regulatory inspectors and if needed will require control of weeds on the weed control list.
  • Promotes weed control through public seminars, newsletters, displays, and regular board meetings.


We provide landowners with information on how to identify and control noxious weeds on their property, and, if necessary, will take action to assure compliance with laws and regulations. Services includes surveying Benton County for noxious weeds, working with landowners to ensure control, educating the public about noxious weeds, and filing civil infractions and fine landowners for failure to control noxious weeds.

Board Members

The Benton County Noxious Weed Control Board of Directors is a voluntary position consisting of five voting members each representing one of five areas of the county (see map). Directors are appointed by the County Commissioners. 

At least four of the voting members are engaged in the primary production of agricultural products. 

Members serve a term of four years.

→ Download PDF of Map

Darrell Miles, Auditor                                   Area 1                                 Term Expires 3-16-2020

Nick Troy, Member                                       Area 2                                Term Expires 3-16-2022

Anthony Smith, Vice Chair                         Area 3                                Term Expires 3-16-2022

Danny Downs, Chair                                   Area 4                              Term Expires 3-16-2020

David Owens, Member                              Area 5                               Term Expires 3-16-2020